How do I completely reset my Android phone?

Does factory reset delete all data?

A factory data reset erases your data from the phone. While data stored in your Google Account can be restored, all apps and their data will be uninstalled. To be ready to restore your data, make sure that it’s in your Google Account.

How do you hard reset an Android phone?

Perform a Hard Restart/Reboot

All you need to do is press and hold the power button for at least 20-30 seconds. It’s going to feel like a long time, but keep holding it until the device powers off.

What’s the difference between a factory reset and a hard reset?

A hard reset is a simple rebooting of your phone. It does not delete any data. 2. A factory reset deletes all data from your phone and restores it to its original factory settings.

How do I wipe my Android phone before selling it?

Go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. You’ll be asked to confirm, and it may take a few minutes to complete the process. Start by backing up your Android phone, then remove any MicroSD cards and your SIM card. Android has an anti-theft measure called Factory Reset Protection (FRP).

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Frequent question: How can I upgrade my Android 4 to 6?

How do I permanently delete data from my phone?

Go to Settings > Backup & reset. Tap Factory data reset. On the next screen, tick the box marked Erase phone data. You can also choose to remove data from the memory card on some phones – so be careful what button you tap on.

How do I fully restart my phone?

Perform a Hard Restart (or Hard Reboot)

It’s like holding the power button down on your computer. To give this a go, press and hold the power button for at least 20 seconds. If Android isn’t responding, this will (usually) force your device to reboot manually.

What is a soft reset on a phone?

Soft Reset Your Phone

If your phone freezes or starts acting very strangely or slow (ex: ignoring touch input), the first thing you should try is a soft reset, otherwise known as turning the phone off and on again.

Do I have to remove my SIM card before factory reset?

HIGHLIGHTS. First of all, you should manually remove every account that you have signed in with. Then, remove any MicroSD card and your SIM card from the device. It is important that you give your old Android phone a proper factory reset before selling or trading it.

Can I still use my phone after a factory reset?

The factory reset process can be performed on all devices like a tablet or phone. When you perform a factory reset, your entire personal data that has been stored on your device will be deleted. The phone will return back to fresh status as it was from the factory.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Frequent question: How do I use SwiftKey keyboard on Android?

Does a factory reset delete your phone number?

The quick answer is “No, it doesn’t effect your plan or phone number”. Note: Factory reset is just a clean up process which includes permissions to clean and reset everything within device to it’s factory made stage. Of course you have additional options to clean your SD card and sim contacts too, if you want.

Is erase all content and settings the same as factory reset?

Answer: A: Reset All Settings and Erase All Content and Settings do different things. Reset all Settings removes things like your Wifi password and settings you’ve set on your iPad for Apps, mail, etc. Erase All Content and Settings restores a device to it’s out of the box state when it was first turned on.

Is factory reset enough before selling phone?

If you want to sell your old smartphone, it’s important that all your sensitive data is wiped clean. Leaving personal details on your old device may lead to unpleasant exposure or make you vulnerable to hackers.